Department of Education

Term Dates

Term Dates

Term Dates

Term Dates ‹ Future Dates

Future Dates


Please contact your school directly for more information about its specific dates.

Dates gazetted for primary and secondary students in public schools in Western Australia (all dates are inclusive).
All students will start their first day of the 2017 school year on Wednesday, 1 February 2017.

The dates below do not include school development ('pupil free') days. Schools will schedule 3 days where students do not attend.

2017

 

Students (Primary & Secondary)

Teachers

Semester 1  
Term 1 Wednesday 1 February - Friday 7 April Monday 30 January – Friday 7 April
Break Saturday 8 April - Sunday 23 April Saturday 8 April - Sunday 23 April
Term 2 Monday 24 April - Friday 30 June Monday 24 April - Friday 30 June
Break Saturday 1 July - Sunday 16 July Saturday 1 July - Sunday 16 July
Semester 2  
Term 3 Monday 17 July - Friday 22 September Monday 17 July - Friday 22 September
Break Saturday 23 September - Sunday 8 October Saturday 23 September - Sunday 8 October
Term 4 Monday 9 October - Thursday 14 December Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December

Notes:

  • A Department term dates calendar for 2017 can not be provided as each public school develops its own calendar.
  • Easter occurs during the Term 1 and 2 break.
  • Please contact your school directly for more information about its specific dates, including school development ('pupil free') days.
  • Students start the school year on Wednesday 1 February and end the school year on Thursday 14 December.
  • There are six school development days where students do not attend:
    • Two of these days are before the school year starts for students and one day is after the school year ends for students.
    • Each school schedules another three days throughout the year in consultation with its school council/board and school community.
  • Independent Public Schools have the flexibility to trade-off school development days (except Monday 30 January and Tuesday 31 January). All other schools have the flexibility to trade-off the last school development day of the school year (Friday 15 December). Teachers should confirm arrangements for their school development days with the school.
  • Labour Relations should be consulted for details of staff start and end year dates by occupational group.
Previous page |
Future Dates
http://www.det.wa.edu.au/termdates/detcms/navigation/future-dates/?oid=MultiPartArticle-id-13972326

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: http://www.education.wa.edu.au/home/redirect?oid=MultiPartArticle-id-14709404