Department of Education

Swimming and Water Safety

Swimming and Water Safety

To achieve a complete multimedia experience when browsing this web site please install the latest Adobe Flash Player plug-in.

Swimming and Water Safety ‹ Swimming instructing

Swimming instructing

Important update on screening

All swimming instructors, including those appointed to relieve, are required to consent to a National Police History Check (NPHC) and must have a valid Department Screening Clearance Number (SCN).  It is important that all applicants are aware of the policy and their responsibility to have a valid SCN in place by the first day of the program.  Please read the Screening Instructor Applications page for details.  Further information on screening checks in general and the relevant forms are available by accessing the Department's screening webpages here.

How to train and apply for a swimming instructor position

The Department of Education is the State's largest employer of swimming instructors, employing more than 2000 qualified swimming instructors in VacSwim and the Interm Swimming programs.  The Department’s required qualification is the AUSTSWIM Teacher of Swimming and Water Safety Certificate and a current Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Certificate.

Swimming instructors employed by the Department must hold a valid National Police History Check (NPHC) issued by the Department, and a current Working With Children Card issued by the Department for Child Protection. 

Application guidelines

Guidelines to apply for VacSwim.

Guidelines to apply for Interm swimming.

To apply for a position online click here.

Previous page |

Page last updated 05 January 2015

Swimming instructing