Department of Education

Taxonomy of Cognitive domain

Bloom's Taxonomy of Cognitive Processes

Benjamin Bloom (1956) devised a taxonomy that discriminated between levels of cognitive thinking. Although the original intention of the taxonomy was to facilitate communication between educators and psychologists in the area of test construction, research and curriculum development, it has been found that areas of study and classroom activities can be based on the taxonomy.

Bloom's Taxonomy consists of six levels:

  1. Knowledge

Recall or recognition of specific information

  1. Comprehension

Understanding of information given

  1. Application

Using methods, concepts, principles and theories in new situations

  1. Analysis

Breaking information down into its constituent elements

  1. Synthesis

Putting together constituent elements or parts to form a whole requiring original, creative thinking.

  1. Evaluation

Judging the value of ideas, materials, and methods by developing and applying standards and criteria

Students should be encouraged to move from lower-to-higher level thinking through the use of teacher questioning, discussion and appropriate tasks.

Although students need to be exposed to experiences at all levels of the Taxonomy, opportunities to work at more advanced levels are vital for gifted students. Often their advanced knowledge and comprehension skills enable them to progress more rapidly to higher levels of thinking, such as analysis, synthesis and evaluation.

Previous page |
Taxonomy of Cognitive domain

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: