Department of Education

Taxonomy of Affective Domain

Krathwohl's Taxonomy of the Affective Domain

Krathwohl's Taxonomy provides a set of criteria for classifying educational outcomes related to the complexity of thinking in the affective domain.

This taxonomy, although related to the affective, forms an excellent tool to use in conjunction with Bloom's Cognitive Taxonomy.

Krathwohl's Taxonomy can be applied to all learning areas and levels. It provides a structure from which teachers can devise a sequential series of activities in order to develop students' personal relationships and value systems.

The five levels of Krathwohl's Taxonmy are:

  1. Receiving

Students at this level are aware of what is presented and are willing to take notice of it. At this level the teacher is the stimuli provider and presenter.

  1. Responding

Students respond when they are committed to discovery. At this level they seek activities in the learning process, receiving satisfaction from their level of participation.

  1. Valuing

Students make decisions about the value and their commitment to and involvement with it. They make choices and, upon acceptance of a value, may attempt at this level to sway others to their chosen value.

  1. Organising

This step requires the organisation of values and the construction of a system in which a set of attitudes, beliefs and values is ordered by the relationship of each to the others.

  1. Characterising by a Value or set

Students at this level have internalised and organised values into a system and can now apply these values as a philosophy of life to a broader range of situations.

Previous page |
Taxonomy of Affective Domain

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: