Department of Education

Teaching and Learning Models

Autonomous Learner Model
George Betts
Creative Problem Solving Process
Enrichment Triad
Joseph Renzulli
Lateral and Creative Thinking
Edward de Bono
Multiple Intelligence Model
Howard Gardner
Multiple-Talent Model
Calvin Taylor
Taxonomy of Affective Domain
David Krathwohl
Taxonomy of Cognitive domain
Benjamin Bloom

Numerous theorists have developed teaching and learning models and taxonomies to teach students the techniques of creative and productive thinking. It is essential that a teacher is familiar with these when designing a curriculum specifically catering for gifted students.

The models included in this section do not form an exhaustive list but can make a useful start when designing a differentiated curriculum for gifted and talented students. According to Maker in Teaching Models in Education of the Gifted "a teaching-learning model is a structural framework that serves as a guide for developing specific educational activities and environments" (1982).

Features common to all models are:

  • an identified purpose or area of concentration;
  • underlying explicit and implicit assumptions about the characteristics of learners and about the teaching-learning process;
  • guidelines for developing specific day-to-day learning experiences;
  • definite patterns and requirements for these learning activities; and
  • a body of research surrounding their development or an evaluation of their effectiveness

Aspects of any model can be used in curriculum design. What is chosen will depend on the school environment, the resources available and the desired outcomes.

When planning to incorporate any of the models into a program, teachers should use the Curriculum Framework learning and teaching principles to guide learning, teaching and assessment for students to achieve the outcomes. In regards to gifted and talented students these principles may assist whole school and individual/group planning to provide for their specific needs.

Teaching & Learning Models

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence
Exclusions may apply: